Let’s Talk Recycling!

Those who know me know I get excited about many experiences that most people would not find amusing. I uncover small molecules of joy and bewilderment in the ordinary and unexpected that keeps me young and in a state of gratitude. Recycling is now one of them!

Lurking in a dark corner of the garage lays unwanted, unfriendly earthen Household Hazardous Waste growing dust and taking up space. What to do with the plethora of items that we cannot simply throw into our regular trash?

First a definition:

What is Household Hazardous Waste?

Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) is any product labeled: toxic, poison, corrosive, flammable, combustible or irritant. The health and safety of our community is endangered when these products are discarded in household garbage, sinks or storm drains. The amount of products from a single home may seem insignificant. However, when millions of homes across Los Angeles County use similar products, the combined effect becomes a major problem.

Some communities have special environmental collection events, or locations that collect and safely destroy these toxic troublemakers.

Recently I had the good fortune to experience my own little environmentally friendly, eco-centric recycling moment, and I was stunned at how easy and efficient it was.

Located at the Hyperion Treatment Plant near El Segundo, being a good citizen of the earth and giving Mother Nature the respect she deserves couldn’t have been easier.

You drive up to a security gate and are guided to the collection location – all the while staying in your car. Men in white moon suits greet you. You pop the trunk and they collect everything, with a smile. It truly could not be any easier. I enjoyed the futuristic element of the guys in their protective amour. It took less than 6 minutes and I was done, feeling very proud of myself. You will too! Just Do It as #Nike so aptly urges.

And spread the word. It’s free.

paintcans

